People

Faculty Research Areas

  • Name

    Contact

    Areas of Interest

  • Raj   AcharyaRaj Acharya
    Dean, Rudy Professor of Engineering, Computer Science and Informatics

    dean@soic.indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1079
    Informatics East

    • Big Data Mining
    • Bioinformatics
    • Immune System Inspired Security Algorithms
  • Randall  BeerRandall Beer
    Professor of Computer Science and Informatics

    rdbeer@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-0873

    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Artificial Life
    • Cognitive Science
  • Adeel A. BhuttaAdeel A. Bhutta
    Lecturer

    aabhutta@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 201D

    • Image Processing & Computer Vision
    • Image and Video Compression
    • Security & Forensics
  • Saul  BlancoSaul Blanco
    Lecturer

    sblancor@indiana.edu

    Informatics West 307A

    • Combinatorics
    • Discrete Mathematics
    • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Randall  BramleyRandall Bramley
    Professor of Computer Science

    bramley@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-7790
    Lindley Hall 301A

    • Computational Optimization
    • Cyberinfrastructure and e-Science
    • High Performance Computing
  • Volker  BrendelVolker Brendel
    Professor of Biology and Computer Science

    vbrendel@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-7074
    Simon Hall 205C

    • Bioinformatics
    • Computational Genome Science
    • Cyberinfrastructure and e-Science
  • Geoffrey  BrownGeoffrey Brown
    Professor of Computer Science

    geobrown@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-4207
    Lindley Hall 330H

    • Digital Preservation
    • Embedded Systems
    • Verification
  • L. Jean  CampL. Jean Camp
    Professor of Informatics

    ljcamp@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1865
    Informatics West 300

    • Security
    • Social Informatics
    • Proactive Health Informatics
  • Arun Chauhan
    Adjunct Assistant Professor



    • Compilers
    • High Performance Computing
    • Parallel and Distributed Computing
  • David J CrandallDavid J Crandall
    Associate Professor of Informatics and Computing

    djcran@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1115
    611 N Park Ave

    • Interactive Intelligent Systems
    • Computer Vision
    • Artificial Intelligence
  • Mehmet  DalkilicMehmet Dalkilic
    Associate Professor of Informatics and Computing

    dalkilic@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-3010
    Lindley Hall 301C

    • Bioinformatics
    • Data Mining
    • Database Theory and Systems
  • R. Kent  DybvigR. Kent Dybvig
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    dyb@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-8653

    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
  • Funda  ErgunFunda Ergun
    Professor of Computer Science

    fergun@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 430C

    • Algorithms for Big Data
    • Computer Networks
    • Data Science
  • Geoffrey Charles  FoxGeoffrey Charles Fox
    Distinguished Professor

    gcf@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-7977

    • Data Analytics and Parallel Computing
    • Cyberinfrastructure and e-Science
    • Deep Learning and Intelligent Systems
  • Daniel  FriedmanDaniel Friedman
    Professor of Computer Science

    dfried@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-4885
    Lindley Hall 230A

    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
    • Theoretical Foundations of Computer Science
  • Dennis  GannonDennis Gannon
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    gannon@iu.edu

    • Cloud Computing
  • Michael  GasserMichael Gasser
    Associate Professor Emeritus of Informatics and Computing

    gasser@cs.indiana.edu

    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Cognitive Science
    • Computational Linguistics
  • Dan-Adrian  GermanDan-Adrian German
    Senior Lecturer

    dgerman@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-7860
    Lindley Hall 204

    • Geometry of Fractal Sets
    • Programming Languages for the Web
    • Randomness and Computation
  • Steven  GottliebSteven Gottlieb
    Adjunct Faculty

    sg@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-0243
    Swain West 226

    • Computational Physics
    • High Performance Computing
    • Parallel and Distributed Computing
  • Minaxi  GuptaMinaxi Gupta
    Associate Professor of Computer Science

    minaxi@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-0918
    Lindley Hall 230F

    • Computer Networks
    • Cyberinfrastructure and e-Science
    • Security
  • Stanley  HagstromStanley Hagstrom
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    hagstrom@indiana.edu

    • Digital Simulations of Molecular Structure
  • Matthew  HahnMatthew Hahn
    Professor of Informatics

    mwh@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-7001

    • Bioinformatics
  • Andrew  HansonAndrew Hanson
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    hansona@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-5855
    Lindley Hall 430E

    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Astronomy
    • Cognitive Science
  • Christopher  HaynesChristopher Haynes
    Associate Professor Emeritus, Computer Science

    chaynes@indiana.edu

    • Computer Science Education
    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
    • Software and Systems
  • Ryan  HenryRyan Henry
    Assistant Professor

    henry@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-9972
    Lindley Hall 330E

    • Security
    • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Raquel  HillRaquel Hill
    Associate Professor of Computer Science and Informatics

    ralhill@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-5807
    Lindley Hall 230E

    • Computer Networks
    • Proactive Health Informatics
    • Resource Allocation
  • Mitja  HmeljakMitja Hmeljak
    Lecturer

    mitja@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-7198
    Lindley Hall 425

    • Visualization, Computer Vision, and Graphics
    • Mobile Computing
    • Teaching and Learning
  • Douglas  HofstadterDouglas Hofstadter
    College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Computer Science

    dughof@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-6964

    • Computational models of human thought (especially analogy-making
    • Creativity in art and music
    • Discovery in mathematics and physics
  • Yan  HuangYan Huang
    Assistant Professor

    yh33@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-3241
    Lindley Hall 330C

    • Security
    • Cryptography
  • Eduardo  IzquierdoEduardo Izquierdo
    Assistant Professor

    edizquie@indiana.edu

    Eigenmann 838

    • Cognitive Science
    • Computational Neuroscience
    • Artificial Life
  • Steven  JohnsonSteven Johnson
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    sjohnson@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-2567
    Lindley Hall 330F

    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
    • Software and Systems
  • Apu  KapadiaApu Kapadia
    Associate Professor of Computer Science and Informatics

    kapadia@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1465
    Lindley Hall 330B

    • Computer Networks
    • Data Science
    • Security
  • David  LeakeDavid Leake
    Professor of Computer Science

    leake@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-9756
    Informatics West 203

    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Case-Based Reasoning
    • Cognitive Science
  • Daniel  LeivantDaniel Leivant
    Professor of Computer Science

    leivant@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-6221
    Lindley Hall 201A

    • Implicit Computational Complexity
    • Logic and Foundations of Mathematics
    • Logics of Programs
  • Andrew  LumsdaineAndrew Lumsdaine
    Professor of Computer Science

    lums@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 856-5288

    • Computational Photography
    • Computational Science and Engineering
    • Computer Networks
  • Suzanne  MenzelSuzanne Menzel
    Senior Lecturer of Computer Science

    menzel@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-0778
    Lindley Hall 201C

    • Computer Science Education
  • Steven  MyersSteven Myers
    Associate Professor of Computer Science and Informatics

    samyers@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1860
    Lindley Hall 330F

    • Complexity Theory
    • Cryptography
    • Logic & Mathematical Foundations in Informatics
  • Sriraam  NatarajanSriraam Natarajan
    Associate Professor

    natarasr@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-7615
    Informatics East 257

    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Data Science
    • Machine Learning
  • Ryan  NewtonRyan Newton
    Assistant Professor of Computer Science

    rrnewton@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-4205
    Lindley Hall 230H

    • Cyberinfrastructure and e-Science
    • Parallel and Distributed Computing
    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
  • Gerardo  OrtizGerardo Ortiz
    Adjunct Professor

    ortizg@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-0367
    Swain West 230

    • Quantum Information Science
    • Unconventional Computing
  • Beth  PlaleBeth Plale
    Professor of Informatics and Computing

    plale@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-4373
    Informatics East 256A

    • Cyberinfrastructure and e-Science
    • Data Mining
    • Data Science
  • Charles  PopeCharles Pope
    Senior Lecturer

    cepope@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-4647
    Lindley Hall 201E

    • Case-Based Learning
    • Effective Teaching Techniques in Large Classrooms
    • Practical Application of Productivity Software
  • Franklin  ProsserFranklin Prosser
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    prosser@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-3689
    Lindley Hall 430E

    • Computer Science Education
    • Digital Hardware
  • Paul  PurdomPaul Purdom
    Professor of Computer Science

    pwp@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-1501
    Lindley Hall 330D

    • Analysis of Algorithms
    • Bioinformatics
    • Data Mining
  • Feng  QianFeng Qian
    Assistant Professor of Computer Science

    fengqian@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 323

    • Computer Networks
    • Mobile Computing and Systems
    • Software and Systems
  • Predrag  RadivojacPredrag Radivojac
    Professor of Computer Science and Informatics

    predrag@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1851
    Lindley Hall 301F

    • Bioinformatics
    • Data Mining
    • Machine Learning
  • Balaprasath  RajanBalaprasath Rajan
    Lecturer

    balrajan@indiana.edu

    Informatics East 259

    • Security
    • Visualization, Computer Vision, and Graphics
    • Programming Languages
  • Gregory J. E.  RawlinsGregory J. E. Rawlins
    Associate Professor of Computer Science

    rawlins@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-2136
    Lindley Hall 201F

    • Human Computer Interaction Design
    • Parallel and Distributed Computing
    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
  • Edward  RobertsonEdward Robertson
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science and Informatics

    edrbtsn@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-4954
    Lindley Hall 430E

    • Database Systems Theory and Practice
    • Enterprise Architectures
    • Information Modeling
  • Amr  SabryAmr Sabry
    Professor of Informatics and Computing

    sabry@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-3668
    Lindley Hall 205A

    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
    • Quantum and Unconventional Computing
    • Theoretical Foundations of Computer Science, Type Theory
  • Cenk  SahinalpCenk Sahinalp
    Professor of Computer Science

    cenksahi@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-7260
    Lindley Hall 301H

    • Bioinformatics
    • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Robert  SchnabelRobert Schnabel
    Dean Emeritus, Professor Emeritus of Informatics and Computing and Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    schnabel@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1079

    • Scientific and Parallel Computation
  • Chung-chieh  ShanChung-chieh Shan
    Assistant Professor

    ccshan@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-4400
    Lindley Hall 230B

    • Programming Language Principles, Design, and Implementation
    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Cognitive Science
  • Jeremy  SiekJeremy Siek
    Associate Professor

    jsiek@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-7241
    Lindley Hall 230D

    • Compilers
    • High Performance Computing
    • Parallel and Distributed Computing
  • George  SpringerGeorge Springer
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    springer@cs.indiana.edu
    (617) 916-5594

    • Programming Language Education
  • Martin  SwanyMartin Swany
    Associate Chair of Intelligent Systems Engineering

    swany@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-7795
    CREST E 208

    • Computer Networks
    • High Performance Computing
    • Internet of Things
  • Haixu  TangHaixu Tang
    Professor of Informatics and Computing

    hatang@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1859
    Lindley Hall 301D

    • Bioinformatics
    • Data Mining
  • Sam  Tobin-HochstadtSam Tobin-Hochstadt
    Assistant Professor

    samth@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 856-3240
    Lindley Hall 230C

    • Compilers
    • Programming Languages
    • Software and Systems
  • Dirk  Van GuchtDirk Van Gucht
    Professor of Computer Science

    vgucht@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-6429
    Lindley Hall 401B

    • Data Mining
    • Data Science
    • Database Theory and Systems
  • XiaoFeng  WangXiaoFeng Wang
    Professor of Informatics and Computer Science

    xw7@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1862
    Lindley Hall 230F

    • Security
    • Privacy Enhancing Technologies
    • Human Genome Privacy
  • Erik  WennstromErik Wennstrom
    Lecturer

    ewennstr@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 425

    • Applied Logic and Computation Theory
    • Natural Logic
    • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Martha  WhiteMartha White
    Assistant Professor

    martha@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 401E

    • Artificial Intelligence
    • Machine Learning
  • Jeffrey  WhitmerJeffrey Whitmer
    Senior Lecturer of Computer Science and Informatics

    jwhitmer@cs.indiana.edu
    (812) 855-3974
    Lindley Hall 201G

    • Digital Convergence
    • Digital Multimedia
    • Foundations of Network and System Security
  • Donald  WilliamsonDonald Williamson
    Assistant Professor

    williads@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 301E

    • Speech Processing
    • Machine Learning
    • Artificial Intelligence
  • David  WiseDavid Wise
    Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

    dswise@cs.indiana.edu
    (136) 058-29233

    • Applicative Programming
    • Multiprocessing Architectures and Algorithms
  • Grigory  YaroslavtsevGrigory Yaroslavtsev
    Assistant Professor

    gyarosla@iu.edu

    Lindley Hall 430F

    • Theoretical Computer Science
    • Machine Learning
    • Data Mining
  • Yuzhen  YeYuzhen Ye
    Associate Professor of Informatics and Computing

    yye@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 301G

    • Bioinformatics
    • Data Mining
    • Data Science
  • Chen Yu
    Adjunct Associate Professor

    chenyu@indiana.edu

    • Interactive Intelligent Systems
  • Qin  ZhangQin Zhang
    Assistant Professor

    qzhangcs@indiana.edu

    Lindley Hall 430A

    • Algorithms for Big Data
    • Theoretical Computer Science
    • Database Theory and Systems
  • Yuan  ZhouYuan Zhou
    Assistant Professor

    yzhoucs@indiana.edu

    • Theoretical Computer Science
    • Machine Learning
    • Operations Research