February 10th and 11th 2012

Canyon Inn
McCormick's Creek State Park
Spencer, Indiana
McCormick's Creek

Thanks for the Memories!

Attendees: Please fill out our post-survey so that we can continue to receive funding for future conferences!

Congratulations to the winners of the poster and lightning talk competitions:

  • POSTER WINNER, graduate research: Shirin Nilizadeh, Indiana University
    DECENT: A Decentralized Architecture for Enforcing Privacy in Online Social Networks
  • POSTER WINNER, undergraduate research: Allana Johnson, DePauw University
    Discouraging Electronic Distraction Using Persuasive Technology
  • POSTER WINNER, non-research: Miranda Tate and Angela Manning, Cloverdale High School, Virtual Reality Pain Reduction
  • POSTER WINNER, non-research: Samantha Morrison and Diana Hernandez, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College, S.A.I.N.T. Club
  • LIGHTNING TALK PEOPLE'S CHOICE, technical: Brittany Keilly and Maria Khokhar, Indiana University, 3D Printing and Open Hardware
  • LIGHTNING TALK PEOPLE'S CHOICE, non-technical: Joey Ni and Fei Wan, DePauw University, The Four Coolest Robots

What is InWIC?

The goal of the Indiana Celebration of Women in Computing (InWIC) conference is to provide a low cost, regionally-tailored, small conference for women in computing. InWIC is a more intimate version of the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, and shares the same philosophy, supportive environment, and goals.

What will happen at InWIC?

  • InWIC will begin late on Friday afternoon. Dinner on Friday is provided, as are accommodations at the Canyon Inn. InWIC will continue through lunch on Saturday, and is followed by a Career Fair in the afternoon.
  • Talks on cutting-edge technical issues and on social issues of relevance to undergraduate and graduate women in computing will be presented.
  • Creative social opportunities to meet faculty members, students, and area industry leaders.
  • Two keynote speakers:
    Katie A. Siek, Assistant Professor of Computer Science at University of Colorado Boulder, where she leads the Wellness Innovation and Interaction Lab. Her primary research interests are in human computer interaction, health informatics, and ubiquitous computing. More specifically, she is interested in how sociotechnical interventions affect personal health and well being. Her research is supported by the National Institutes of Health, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the National Science Foundation including a five-year NSF CAREER award. She was an organizer for InWIC 2006, the same year she received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Indiana University. Nadine Shillingford, Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Software Engineering at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (RHIT). She is a graduate of the Computer Science and Engineering department at the University of Notre Dame where her research area was centered on routing solutions for wireless ad-hoc and mesh systems. She is the faculty advisor for the girls in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (gEECS) group and the RHIT CCDC computer security defense team. Professor Shillingford's focus is on introducing computer security awareness in K-12 students. She serves as the Treasurer for InWIC 2012.

Who can attend InWIC?

The conference will bring together people from industry and Indiana academic institutions. The program will be of interest to both undergraduate and graduate students. Our previous conferences were attended by women from small private schools (e.g., DePauw University, Hanover College), engineering schools (e.g., Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology), and large public state institutions (Indiana University, Purdue University, and IUPUI).

InWIC 2010 InWIC 2008 MidWIC 2006 InWIC 2006 CICWIC 2004

Contact Us


  • GENERAL CHAIR: Gloria Childress Townsend, DePauw University (email)
  • CO-CHAIR: Maureen Biggers, Indiana University (email)
  • CO-CHAIR: Suzanne Menzel, Indiana University (email)

Program Committee

  • STUDENT COORDINATOR: Lindsey Kuper, Indiana University (email)
  • INDUSTRY CHAIR: Tara Lane, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College (email)
  • TREASURER: Nadine Shillingford, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (email)

School Coordinators

  • DEPAUW UNIVERSITY: Khadija Stewart (email)
  • ROSE-HULMAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY: Nadine Shillingford (email)

  • BUTLER UNIVERSITY: Jonathan Sorenson (email)
  • INDIANA STATE: Jeff Kinne (email)
  • INDIANA UNIVERSITY SOUTHEAST: Carolyn Granda (email)
  • IUPUI: Yuni Xia (email)
  • IVY TECH: Joan Wealing (email)
  • PURDUE: Dawn Laux (email) and Alka Harriger (email)
  • TAYLOR UNIVERSITY: Stefan Brandle (email)
  • UNIVERSITY OF EVANSVILLE: Deborah J. Hwang (email)
  • UNIVERSITY OF INDIANAPOIS: Krysi Leganza (email)

Anita Borg Institute
West Monroe Partners
       Microsoft        Interactive Intelligence

Become a Gold sponsor

   General Electric

Become a Silver sponsor

   Liberty Mutual
   Vision Solutions

Become a Bronze sponsor